lady wants to know

why do men do this thing?

silly jokes, poor puns

my husband does this too

& I try to tell her the why

but I can see she don’t believe

so I’ll try with you

this is the way

we test the deep waters

of our relationships with you

discover who & how we are

the standing in our group

we throw this stuff out there

ease the working day

testing the response

no no no she insists

men are unemotional creatures

really, such a sexist view?

flogging the dead horse I continue

I can hear in a response

who is angry with someone

needs time to talk it through

the tired ones running on fumes

& the one feeling deepest blue

well, that’s you she says

holding on tight to what she thinks

well, I say, I knew straightaway

this was your unhappy day

when I cracked that funny

not so much as a smile

& that’s ok, really not a fuss

I know now to give you space

for a little while

Leave a comment