five

going to school

holding hands

with my big sister

over busy roads

which are but side streets now

understanding

that this was not a space

that would be good for me

I did the cry

run home thing

then the fighting with teachers

I knew deep

this place was there

only to steal my soul

whatever I understood

of that then

this vast impersonal theatre

that made everything personal

in its attack

yet held

an incredible defence

adults versus kids

& victory can only come

later

as you refuse

to be like

them

One thought on “five

Leave a Reply

