Nettle Soup

I turned up

not out of the blue

just a day later than I’d said

her folks put me in a room,

out back

away from the main house.

They weren’t being mean

just protective of her

they offered to feed me

but I didn’t want any fuss

so I made nettle soup

made it last the 2 says I was there

we weren’t drinking, or smoking

or fucking either

for that detail

I was

just glad to be

with her

and out

of the latest trap

I’d sprung on myself

Oh, and coffee

lots of coffee

we walked

brooded on a future

that would never come

to pass

and after the 2 days

I said goodbye

to never

see her again

or live

on nettle soup

Leave a Reply

