vanity

The light is low tonight

& I can see the grey

amongst the brown hair

people say to me

hombre

you dye your hair

& the ladies titter

behind their hands

at my vanity

like I’d use Grecian 2000

just for men stuff

I don’t

you know I don’t

yes I have my conceits

loving my long hair

that has cost me jobs

ladies

respect

amongst the posh white anglos

this

compadres

is mine

to dye it

would be to die

a mans hair

is his own totem

& to add colour

is to deny

who he truly is

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

