Something about rabbits

deep asleep in a post coital

post drinking

post dancing

night out

dreaming of green fields

& something about a rabbit

wanting to tell me about….

shaken awake

its my husband!

wha’?

his car!

what?

my husband just pulled up outside!

y’got to go, quick

half asleep

head full of haze

she was throwing clothes at me

shoes

I bundle them under my arm

how do I get out?

bathroom she hissed

pointing

I open the window

look out

throw shoes

clothes

reach out for the drainpipe

shimmy twenty feet

in the dark

search for shoes

clothes

jog away

bundle under my arm

head slowly clearing

jogging in the dark

to a park bench

slowly getting dressed

find cigarettes

spark one

husband?

who?

hang on

she’d told me

she was a teacher

divorcee

looking for a steady man

& here I was

jogging in the dark

stopping to catch breath

laughing

as the penny dropped

there was no husband

she just wanted me gone

maybe lain awake

in a poor post coital funk

lying next to dead asleep

me

snoring

sweating

smelly

farting

me

did not want

the difficult morning

wake up conversation

I walked on home

through the quiet streets

smiling to the world

& for me

all decisions had been taken

out of my hands

Leave a Reply

