roil

It’s a chuckle of memory

she lived along the street

her man invited me over

sat me down with a cup of tea

pushed a fat spliff at me

looked me over

& asked who I was

there was no answer to give

this was not a conversation

between friends

as she sat there & smiled

it was a bitter interview

all of which I was unaware

she had decided to leave him

move on to me

of which I yet knew nothing

I could feel his intensity

roil off him in brittle waves

as I sat sipping tea

huffing his ganja puff

& wondering

if today was going to be

a good day

or one of those days

the world rears from nowhere

bites you on the ass

Leave a Reply

