What could

What I could be

was never quite plain

though

what I wasn’t

was made abundantly clear

plethora of more

shibboleths

taboos

half truths piled up

than I could see horizon over

don’ts filled my days

feared my dreams

all experimentation was wrong

keeping safe the key

be like us the mantra

& that scared me most

their deep unhappiness

so evident

in everything they did

dare not do

that settling for less

coloured my every moment

this was not love

some slighted care

it was choke

kill the dreams

with whatever was at hand

& the head will follow

Leave a Reply

