one bag

I swore to never let you go
those days when we had nothing
just you & me
making it to the end of the street
you came to me
one bag of clothes
sad eyes
needing a place to stay
safe from the before
& you walked me one time
to the end of the street
I was failing with pleurisy
took me to the surgery
pulling me by the hand
nursed me to wellness
& we went on better than before
which became not enough
over poor floor times
you began the needing more
where once you
I was happy with the nothing
when you left you had more
than your one bag of clothes
& I helped you walk
to the end of the street

Leave a Reply

