being at one

I see this guy
got three kids running all around
screaming their little heads off
wanting everything they can
& he looks harassed
tired to the bone
being at one
I say:
don’t worry
you will get your own life back
after these have all grown up
he looked at me
like I’d offered to stab them
with a blunt butcher knife
for this was
the only life he’d ever wanted
his reason for living
& I
was a deplorable human being
time to make tracks I thought
see if I can find an adult
needing a drink
decent conversation
& a good laugh

Leave a Reply

