I got asked

what does your naiveté do for you?
well, I guess
it saves me from cynicism
I know only too well
how people do the shitty stuff
steal, rob, maim & kill
without skipping a heartbeat
get in the way of the next person
needing a cigarette
a stiff drink
getting home
or to work
& they will mow you down
on their way to me, me, me
you see?
I can do cynicism
but to do that every day
would make anyone a killer
just be thankful
I wish the best from everyone
& you are not in my way

Leave a Reply

