As a youf

My focus as a youth
was to find myself
wanting to be the real
authentic, me
& oh, the irony
I was there the whole time
what I was looking for
was really the courage
strength
to be me
to say no
when a no was needed
& yes when that was too
took me a little while
to begin to see through
the thin veil
tissue of half lies
put out to keep me in line
hold me for ways
that do not hold truth
making me look in the wrong direction
stopping me from seeing
I already had what I needed
& that is what the fear put out is for
to keep you small
not asking embarrassing questions
how come your wise men
are such fools?

Leave a Reply

