& no look back

I burnt every fucking bridge
if they didn’t want me
I reckoned I was free
& no look back
always forwards
onward to the next
let slip the dogs of war
was my unspoken creed
there was never a job
an organization
group
any collective
I joined
not in a state of flux
either ending
reforming
or beginning to wind down
oh I always took their money
but always watched what the boss did
how they slunk bellies to the ground
making sure they came out on top
where I was looking for space to grow
they were wary of the new
& laughing I’d take the loot & run
making sure I’d set the match to burn
some time after I’d gone

Leave a Reply

