every year or so

We were drifting across the high desert
when it began to softly snow
so I stopped the car
to get out & see the show
it’s a rare thing they told me
only happens every year or so
I smiled backed that up
went looking for someone to tell
you will always be that empty chair
a long shadow there on my white wall
so much I’d love to tell you
all the good the bad & the you know
I’d want you to listen not only hear
how this life has held interesting times
& I’d sit still listen tight to you too
try not to judge when you spoke of the why
you never let me get closer to you
that business can never happen now
though I speak here & in my thoughts
these moments don’t seem to occur that much
I guess they just happen
every year or so

Leave a Reply

