The wave

when the blues come
it is like a rising wave
when paddling over the breakers
& it wrenches your board from under you
pulling you down & over & over
the waves roar to fill your head
while the leash pulls at your ankle
the struggle to find up becomes real
as your breath begins to run out
one time I made it to the shallows
on my hands & knees gasping for air
as successive waves beat on my back
I couldn’t take a clear lung full of life
as they pushed me deeper into sand
she pulled me up by lifting my arm
giving me a leverage point for escape
& I worry still about if she hadn’t been there
& now when I feel that rising wave in my life
I know to sit & wait to be pulled under again
wait for calmer water
the wave to pass
breathe slowly
& let go

Leave a Reply

