Angels & Demons Hideaway Bar

Let me just set the beat
a bass low & slow
think Jah Wobble at the back
a steady bass beat kick drum
brushes soft on the skins
a snare popping on the 8
swamp blues think Ry Cooder tones
with a lairy long guitar riff snaking out
now & then like a cat wailing at getting
what it needs
some sweet Terry Evans riff in no rush
to get anywhere its going
let that swing for a few minutes
then picture if you will
a long bar, soft red lit on a hot night
I’m at one end watching a bead
of beer sweat slide down the glass
enjoying the air con & nothing
the door opens & this guy slides in
orders a cool one, holds against his brow
he nods
I nod social back
as the beat slumbers on behind us
his voice quiet not a whisper
more soft gravel on hot fat tyres
I had me a season of spirit women
not a long season tho’ at times
it sure felt like it
some times I feel they cursed me
for leaving
others
they cursed me for the stay
I got nothin’ special just another guy
tryin’ to find his own way
the riff curled around the speakers
hung in the air
then the soft thud back beat started over
they loved me more than I loved them
said
they’d do anything I needed or want
I tested this how else does a man show love?
I nodded wiped my neck with a do rag
& offered a half smile
but they had this one thing y’know
with the spirit thing
this witchy stuff they had goin’ on
they’d hint, prod, leave spaces
where words could be
& if you play, put the wrong words
in their right spaces it kills the spell
he shuddered then
took a drink
I had to leave then man
could not do that telepathy thing
tho’ I tried every day
it was about this point
my eyes must have glazed over
hey he called don’t fade on me
you looked like the listenin’ kind
don’t make me drag you down
I snapped out
shook my head
remembered the name of the bar
said
should we have another beer instead?
I swear his eyes glowed then
as he growled
I felt it was time we should meet
& it was then
I remembered why I was there

Leave a Reply

