Fox

It was early
maybe two three a m
hurtling to get home
after the longest day
with her
going nowhere
but circles
the needle said seventy
speedometer light against the dark
my beam caught the gold red
stopped in the road
staring straight into me
I tried to slow
struggling to hold upright
feeling the dull thud
the wheels lift
for a second
& gone
gained control
pulled to the side
ran back
this once proud beast
was dead
i lifted its body
to the verge
said goodbye
wished it well
on its journey
climbed back
on my bike
felt the chill
of blood drying
on my hands
knew my direction
now
& left

Leave a Reply

