Oh I still get caught

Oh I still get caught
Hippy girl in Williams Ariz.
got me when buying rabbit furs
dipped her hand to her lap
came up with a one
said this is all you gave me
wide eyed & innocent
& ripping her head seems overmuch
when she needed a well played
bitch
snag tooth Spanish woman
on the border early morning
Hendaye ‘tween france & spain
said ‘scuse me sir, I need more
the ten I gave had become a five
& ripping her head seems overmuch
when she needed a well played
bitch
oh I still get caught
& you’d think
after the years of hanging rough
with players & ne’er do wells
I’d have these games sussed
oh they will still catch you
looking for the tired eye
a moments inattention
distraction by another
in this grifter way of life
the ones who get me
whose heads I cannot rip
are the bankers
politicians
getting fat at my expense
& the smug smile that seems to say
look at me get rich
new car
new clothes
well played bitch

Leave a Reply

