what, where?

We’d been together a while
I guess she was bored
with the things we did
was talking of trying the new
& it went
you wanna put what where?!
how would you like that?
& I wondered where she was
when I was unloading trucks at 2am
days trying to keep the boss happy
so’s I could leave at midnight
on the long weekends
pressing out sheet metal
in a cold winter no door factory
hoisting cement bags on my back
for thousand yard days
standing with my hand out
for Friday pay hoping
that they’d not clipped
quarter hours here & there
blunt spade digging in the sun
while the foreman drank coffee
how would I like that?
baby, I said
I’ve had that most days of my life

Leave a Reply

