no state secret

I don’t talk much about it
but it’s no state secret
whenever I hear folk
talk about art
I taught an art class
for a couple years, more
disabled people, special needs
man they ran me ragged
about how cute my ass was
my use of words in the world
& we spoke nothing of van gogh
anybody daubing canvas with oil
we sculpted with wood, clay
painted with colours from cans
& it was art you could put on a wall
if you were that moody way inclined
took trips to galleries, museums
eating home made sarnies on the way
& all of that influenced stuff we did
though there was no mutter of style
we did what we could with whatever we had
no complaints ever when efforts fell flat
or only the artiste liked the mess
& that is the real art
Eh?

Leave a Reply

