We got in late

We got in late
out with other friends
maybe 2 or 3
& I was thinking of work
the next day
& we talked long instead
I remember not one word
any wish or desire expressed
though light coming thru’ curtains
caught us by surprise
a time of coffee & cigarettes
as the booze gently wore off
looking to the coming day
we took a shower
& into work we went
eyes full of sand
head stuffed with cotton
there was another time
when I thought we were through
I was pulling away from you
not sure if this was to be
us over & done
you touched me then
& I knew you’d not let go
the choice was a future
or just another dead end
I’d want you to know
if I can
there are no regrets
this end

Leave a Reply

