Travelling light

for years I had a cheap leather bag
& those years exposed how cheap
how not leather it was
bare patches showing through
it got some heavy use
carrying everything I owned
between towns, cities
cheap rent to cheap rent
some socks, underwear
couple of shirts, jeans
my handwritten notebooks
holding deep treasure in them
all that gold has gone
worn thin much like the clothes
these held my sanity in strange days
as I moved between places
women, friends, easy bars
not looking but hoping to find
something to show me the way
there were times I thought
I’d found something to cling to
but like my bag
these always
wore thin

Leave a Reply

