Just another shack job

we shacked together a couple of years
& were just starting to get real tired
of each others shit
& then came Christmas
we were invited over to her mothers
they were to let us sleep together
recognition of our living in sin
things started well
I bought her mum a poinsettia
her dad & me got on nodding terms
then I took her brother in law
out for a few drinks
he got wasted
trashed
threw up over himself
tripped over pavement
got bloodied
& of course
all of this was my fault
the reasoning being
he’d never done this before
my reasoning was more
maybe he’d not yet had the opportunity
last I looked
the cat was having a ball
then came Christmas day
family gathered to open presents
all went quiet as she reached over
picked up this little bag
I’d put on the tree
opened it up
looked inside
silver charms for her bracelet
silence
more silence
as it began to dawn
their daughter was
just another shack job
there was
to be no romantic Christmas
engagement ring
their cosy nest held a cuckoo
I was not to be part of the family

Leave a Reply

