Dog roses caught me early

romance comes easy to young men
we confuse it
with the wooing
searching for sex
& that in itself
is restless
in dark winter
bars, alleyways were my boudoir
& summer
straw yellow grass
pale pinks of dog roses
viewed my endeavors
the simplicity of form
ability to thrive
in the poorest of circumstance
struck a chord
there was one I rejected
days before her wedding
came to show
her designer wedding dress
dog roses as the theme
another
who asked full earnest
did I know the why of her
love of dog roses?
in these moments
all I can do
is sigh
& say
did you know
that I love them too?

Leave a Reply

