Koalas

I wipe my ass on koala bears
now
their cute furry features
imprinted on the soft
double layered paper
& I think on poems I wrote
as a young man
travelling across country
hitching rides
eating only chocolate
burgers & coffee
when I could get them
sometimes it’d be a day
between meals
& that would create gut problems
I’d be caught short
middle of nowhere
in the trees
behind bushes
side of the road
& my salvation
lay only in the paper
I’d written my latest opus
on
maybe that is the best use
ever

One thought on “Koalas

Leave a Reply

