she was yellow

as a dirty roadside companion rose

I was tied to my hospital bed

by lyme disease

could walk as far as the toilet

to much disapproval by nurses

she would smile as she walked by

and we began a conversation

would I like a newspapaper?

a kit kat from the shop?

and off she’d go

seeming happy to have something to do

& the nurse said

‘don’t get too close

she will be gone

by Saturday’

so

of course

I had to ask

‘an overdose

these are her

days of grace

before total organ failure’

not a high priority for transplant

when my yellow dusky rose returned

she could see by my face

that I knew

she smiled

said

‘oh well, eh?’

& the next day

was gone.

One thought on “she was yellow

Leave a Reply

