Capiche?

I wonder
If I can write this
about you
& for you not to know
this really is the one
about you
about
how I fell so deep
but couldn’t keep it
at that level
so settled for this
my love song
in a minor key
to tell you then
was tempting fate
and now
I’ve learned
too well
that fate awaits
all poets
who take for granted
the joy
a suitable lover brings
I wanted you
thinking
of me
as I do you
while I travel
my old roads
& you swing
along
your avenue
of bright trees
I’d rather think
of your long hair
in summer sun
than on this grey winter day
as
your memory warms
tho’ I
have grown cold
capiche?

Leave a Reply

