at the window

traffic slow tonight
supposing
just supposing
I wanted to reach out
tell somebody
something
to try
& touch
someone
let go of the pain
& instead
recognising
their
hurt inside
that stops me
dead
in my tracks
its not any competition
but a hand
curled in rage
cannot reach out to mine
my truth
slips out sideways
cos that’s just how
this all works
in the kingdom of rain
words are
misheard
misunderstood
interpreted
wrong
I sit at the window
looking
for a friend
complete
without pain
its going to be
a very long night.

Leave a Reply

