slotting nice words into rows

They sit & watch the box
my loves
mother & daughter sharing
tv experiences
while I sit
in other rooms
stringing words
to lines
or lying
reading
I understand
from that same tv
that these shows
are shared by millions
are the best thing
ever
and i
of course
just can’t get
it
don’t understand
that staring at flicker
is life affirming
like small talk
nice dinner parties
I guess I never have
will
not being built that way
though I do get
that the tv
telling me of it’s brilliance
is like those tired poets
slotting nice words into rows
rhyming with brilliance
but still can’t raise a flicker
telling me
how great they are.

Leave a Reply

