proud

She was proud
I drove in to the car park
sat for a while
and listened
she was upset about something
something I’d done
not done
not thought of
had thought of.
We got out and walked to the bar
and she struck
across the back of my head
got hold of my long hair
pulled it
pulled me
to the ground
kicking
scratching
while pulling
my head
left
right
up
down
then it was done.
She walked
into the bar
calling: ‘c’mon’
she was proud
people in there
had watched
applauded
and they sniggered
as I bought beers
for us.
I took her home after that
tried to never see her again
her grip on me was failing
and
I knew my grip on her was gone.

Leave a Reply

