Boots

I’d been visiting a friend
who had food, beer, drugs
‘cos I had none of those
was waiting on a lift
your transport
was all I had at that time
there was something wrong
about me that day
I stood, walked a bit
but caught nothing
a bad day
to be hitching a ride
after 12 hours
beyond tired, hungry, cold
over the way a gas station
and I sidled over for warm
this young black kid
looked at me
knowing I’d been there a while
‘you ok?’
and I began to bargain
no choices
for the cowboy boots
on my feet
got a plastic of water
and a bag of sweets
like he was doing me
the biggest favour
I made it back over
to my side of the road
and a half hour later
got a ride back to my
poverty.

Leave a Reply

