& I?

She flung wild accusations
as I looked around
not for me
for
some other sap
responsible for this
in a movie
a book
our hero
sweeps her up
off her feet to a better place
this was not to be
I wanted out
she wanted out
but first
accounting needed done
and I was not in that place
feeling I’d done as done by
and if she’d wanted better
then better
needed to have been done
it seemed
this was a wish
while I sat
through a haircut
of my failings
every misread deed
thought
nobody loves a post-mortem
especially the corpse
me
to argue
reply in turn
only serves to prolong
the finale
the ‘cause of death’
you guessed it
it was
me
& I?
I had not realised how powerful I was.

Leave a Reply

