free rope

There are few people I trust
to the end of the line
the end of the rope
I give ‘em
if you know me
you know I give rope out
mile after mile
month after month
& some
thinking
I’m not paying attention
keep pulling
taking
without paying attention
or thought
suddenly find themselves
dangling
past the frayed end
& because they were not awake
thinking it was me asleep
try to lay the blame on me
only to find I was gone
some time ago
there are some I trust
count the one hand numbers
not that I wouldn’t want more
but its hard
for most
to bear more than the weight
of free rope

Leave a Reply

