much a gas

You remind me
that I once said
I’d never make 30
not in a friend way
or of kinship recognition
that these long years
have not always been kind
its true though
I thought 30
a lofty ambition
now twice that
I think of the long nights
In bars
behind bars
both pretty much a sentence
a learning to live
trying not to die
my body holding memory
the violence visited upon me
by those who wanted to
but happy to make their need
mine
being robbed is never pretty
but you did it anyway
with laws, rules, pretty faces
the aches on cold days
are now mine all mine
not that I’m blue
its been very much
a gas

One thought on “much a gas

Leave a Reply

