you could’ve been mine

here in my window
looking at the bricks
counting the ways
you could’ve been mine
cos my mind is set to wander
and I wonder sometimes
why yours was not that way too
it wasn’t just those times
that way we dressed to forget
the how fickle dry people are
with short lives forever in mind
our diaries crossed in brief
now I’ve got the leisure
to think on where you got to
how I lost that lazy road
heading to profane places
not that I’m willing to return
but now you’ve gone
its simpler to reflect
those spaces in between
our things softer unsaid
ill’er deeds safest not undone.
you could’ve been mine
except for the loving
as you chose hating instead.

Leave a Reply

