off’f

I had these places, oases of trees, green, quiet
off’f the unbeaten track
spaces to sit, think, lie out the day
finding moments of clarity, crystal fragments
which faded as I headed back
to my life of work, cold dreams, broke reality
to women who swore they understood, but knew nothing
beyond their own unfulfilled desire dreams
I can, do, go back to the places I lay
deep in the long grass and weeds
to try and work out what it was, the world and its needs
those vexed too easy to be answers
simpler, much clearer than now
as I sit, wait out a while
thinking
I wish you were here
then.

Leave a Reply

