pong

You smell
they told me
& well
it must be true
I catch wind of it
when I return to a room
space
I’ve been in
I guess I must like it
a pig in its own shit
who cares?
obviously
they have no armpits
arseholes
to trouble them
(except me)
maybe they bathe
in different streams
tubs, showers, sinks
spending bigger fortunes
for artificial pongs
deodorants, colognes, perfumes
scents
to disguise
who they really are
not that I lay claim distinction
this,
they bestow on me
Neil Benbow
they say
and then sniff the air.

Leave a Reply

