destination

I set out so long ago
that I’ve forgotten my destination
& now I wonder
did I choose this life?
or
did it choose me?
I sit amongst the people
whose faces seem set
for wars fought long ago
while mine
rages on
when I see an empty road
or
a place I’d much rather be.
its not that the sun sets brighter
there
or
the grass a lighter shade
of green
just
just that
the calling is pulling away
for places
& people
yet to be seen.

How to say why I have to go
when at the time
you seemed pleased to see my back
the future you had for me
was such a small place
of time and of loss
&
I’m not saying it was easy
tr that I never wanted return
but once along that path
the signs never pointed from front.

Leave a Reply

