half yeller

I don’t know who’s died, who’s alive
Who’s lying maimed
In some Spanish street at dawn.
Who died from alcohol
Tho’ one I know died from leukaemia
He married an ex girlfriend of mine
And
I can only hope
Wish
that he died in love
in her arms.
All those crazy young men
Riding black chrome deathtraps into
Blacktarred flat tops
Sunsets and shrouds
Gone from me
In my ignorance of their
Living
Passing.
I cannot imagine their lives
Only that some may still be
Alive
I wonder if they passed their days
In the same winsome way
I remember
Their adolescent ways
In some eternal half yeller sunny
Evening
Of golden cider
Stolen cigarettes
And girl women
with sticky knickers.
We were boys then
And some of us
Still are.

Leave a Reply

