Navy Days

I was what?
15 months in
had endured a year of hell and sadism
that passed for boy sailor training
and this was a spring Friday
I was headed out to meet my girl
they stopped me at the gate
in my tie dye bell bottoms (orange n purple)
scoop t shirt, beads & platform shoes
where d’you think you’re going?
I told ‘em I was off to see my girl
they asked for her address
I had none
and they asked:
Supposin’ there’s a war, how do we find you?
my response
If there was a war,
I didn’t want to be found
which earned me
a 3 hour sit n think about it.
I did get to see my girl
and the Monday after
I put my quit papers in.
The signs were there.

Leave a Reply

